Taco Thursday: Oh no! Morgan’s out of town!!!

Sean here! So last week, Morgan had to go out of town for a work training class, abandoning me and leaving me fending for myself for our weekly Taco Thursday tradition. It didn’t seem right for me to try to craft a delicate, homemade Mexican dish without her so I decided to instead do a review of one of the more infamous “Mexican” restaurants: Taco Bell.

I haven’t been to Taco Bell much in recent months, but, as a college graduate, I have spent my fair share of money on Taco Bell menu items. I was overwhelmed when I saw the dazzling menu illuminated by flourescent lighting and quickly realized I wasn’t going to be able to just order an item or two. In the end, I settled on two of Taco Bell’s staple items, my favorite special of all time, and a new adventure I had never tried before.

A great spread deliciousness

The Crunchwrap Supreme, Cantina Burrito, Cheesy Gordita Crunch, and Nachos Bellgrande

I started by diving into the Nachos Bellgrande since they were unwrapped and would cool easiest. I used five packs of “fire” sauce in order to get through them and, while I enjoyed them, I was disappointed with the lack of toppings on the chips.

Weak sauce nachos

These really could have used some more of… anything.

Then I chose to move on to the Cantina Burrito. I had never ordered anything off Taco Bell’s new “Cantina Menu” and didn’t really know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised however at how refreshing the burrito tasted. I’ve never before used the word “refreshing” to describe anything at Taco Bell, but this was it. The cilantro lime marinated chicken combined with the cilantro, corn salsa, guacamole, and whatever else was in the tortilla really made this burrito an enjoyable experience.

The burrito inner-workings

The inners of a Cantina Burrito

The Crunchwrap Supreme was the next item to meet my destruction, and I was thoroughly disappointed. The wrap was stuck to the bag that it came in and then the wrap unfolded and wouldn’t stay together. Thus is the problem with Crunchwraps. You never know what you’re going to get inside the wrap. Unfortunately, I bit into the wrap and got a mouthful of lettuce. Nothing is very mixed up in the Crunchwrap, but usually it is still delicious.

Crunchwrap Supreme

Disappointing wrap of deliciousness.

Of course, I saved my favorite course for my last course. My favorite item from Taco Bell has always been the Cheesy Gordita Crunch. It comes on special from time to time, but a little known fact- they will always make it for you if you ask for it. It has been a staple for me for more than a decade. The soft outer gordita shell melded together with cheese to the hard shell inside is one of the most ingenious ideas in the history of food. The pepperjack sauce flows amongst the “meat” and cheese and lettuce. It was delicious as always and it made me happy.

Cheesy Gordita Crunch

So many layers. So much fun.

Overall, I wasn’t so much disappointed in Taco Bell as I was that I couldn’t have homemade tacos with Morgan. We have a great time when we cook and Taco Bell just wasn’t the same. Looking forward to making our meal myself next week!

Do you have a favorite item at Taco Bell?

Leave a Reply

