Why Two Young Professionals Love Crocs

If you’re like I used to be, when you picture Crocs, you probably picture neon rubber shoes on little kids, elderly folks, dog walkers and gardeners. Not cute, and definitely not professional. Which is too bad- because they are the most comfortable shoes in the world.

Crocs - Charleston Crafted

If you’ve never tried on a pair- I dare you to. It feels like a mix of walking on a cloud and bouncing on a foam mattress topper. They’re amazing for people in the food or retail industry who are on their feet all day.

Which brings me to my first sighting of non-hideous crocs. When I was in college, I worked at the local Victoria’s Secret. We had to wear black and we had to run around all day, on our feet, rarely getting to sit down. One of my fellow employees showed up one day in adorable Mary Janes. When I asked her where they were from, she leaned close and whispered, “They’re Crocs!”

I never bought myself a pair of those Mary Janes, but I never forgot about them. Then, this summer I was shopping with my mom at Belk and I spotted these adorable leopard print ballet flats. I tried them on and fell in love and haven’t looked back. They are perfect for a rainy day- they don’t get soggy. They are as comfy as bedroom slipeprs and like walking on a cloud. And the loepard print is just fun.

I was a little nervous to tell people I not only owned but wore Crocs, but everyone loved them. The ladies at work deemed them totally appropriate and several actually went online and ordered themselves a pair! When Sean’s mom saw them and tried them on, she loved them so much she actually got herself three pairs (in three different colors!)

Sean dug my crocs too. He was super jealous of my newly squishy, comfy, don’t-want-to-ever-take-my-shoes-off life. A few weeks ago, we were out looking for tennis shoes for him and somehow ended up, once again, at Belk. While they didn’t have any sneakers he liked, he did spot these hanging on a rack. He tried them on, I think mostly out of boredom, and was immediately hooked. And I mean immediately. We quickly realized they only had his size in espresso and he wanted the khaki. We were both on our phones googling and searching, when the friendly salesman pulled them up in the Columbia store. They had his size, on sale, plus an additional 10% off, plus free two day shipping. It was destiny.

Sean wears his to work and I think they look adorable with his khakis. He has gotten a little grief from his buddies about wearing them, but that hasn’t slowed him down one bit. He rocks them with pants and shorts; with socks and without.

So that’s the story of how two young professionals got hooked on crocs. I’m totally interested in another pair for fall, and Sean’s got his eye on some of the loafers. Even having a “desk job,” we are still on a feet a lot, and these shoes make me feel a lot less sore and tired at the end of the day. And I think we look pretty cute, too.

Would you ever wear crocs in public?

We weren’t paid or prodded by Crocs to write this post- we just truly love their products!

4 thoughts on “Why Two Young Professionals Love Crocs

  1. Sweetieheart, you seriously need to be in sales or fashion merchandising. If you can pitch crocs you can sell anything! And now I know what I want us all to get for Christmas this year. Remember last years “Forever Lazy” pj’s?

Leave a Reply

