Picking Paint Colors

One of the very first things I wanted to do to my condo, even before bringing in any furniture, was to paint. The walls of the condo were all a generic builder’s beige and I couldn’t wait to tackle it.

I knew that the color that I wanted for the living room to be painted sea foam. However, upon investigating Lowes, I realized that there are a lot of shades of sea foam.

Shades of Sea Foam

In the end, I got three small samples of paint and brought them to the condo to try in several spots. I got samples of Olympic  #1 Summer Breeze, #2 Creamy Cucumber, and #3 Cactus Blossom. We ended up applying them in 5 spots – large spots in the living room and dining room, next to the kitchen cabinets, next to some door trim, and right above the counter tops. This let us preview how they might look in many different lighting situations.

Picking Paint Colors - Charleston Crafted

Picking Paint Colors - Charleston Crafted

We were very surprised to see how different the same colors looked in different rooms. The same shades that looked very blue and green in the living room looked nearly white in the dining room. This resulted in me deciding to knock out #3, which looked far too white in the dining room.

Picking Paint Colors - Charleston Crafted

From there, the main difference that I spotted between #1 and #2 was that #1 had more green undertones, while #2 was ever so slightly more blue. And I mean very, very slightly.

Picking Paint Colors - Charleston Crafted

In the end, I chose #1, which was Summer Breeze. I wanted a sea foam green color and thought it’s green undertones worked the best for this.

 Picking Paint Colors - Charleston Crafted

Check in tomorrow to see how we prepared to paint and painted my living room, dining room, and kitchen and to see how it turned out!

How do you choose what color to paint a room? Do you paint a ton of samples in a ton of different places? Which of these colors would you have picked?

One thought on “Picking Paint Colors

Leave a Reply

