Baking Fail: Chocolate Covered Pretzel Edition

This week we are celebrating Halloweek here at Charleston Crafted! Check in every day to see how we are decorating and baking for one of my favorite holidays!

A lot of stuff that I make turns out really well and I love sharing it with you. However, sometimes stuff turns out as a huge flop. Sean loves Flips candies and I thought that I could make some Halloween themed chocolate covered pretzels for a festive snack. I had never made them before and have to say, they are not as easy as they look.

What you need:

White chocolate (I used Ghiradelli chips)

Pretzel twists or rods

Sprinkles or candy toppings

What you do:

Melt the chocolate. I poured some chips into a bowl, and microwaved for one minute.

White Chocolate Chips - Charleston Crafted

I stirred the chocolates and microwaved them for another minute.

 

 

Melting White Chocolate Chips - Charleston Crafted

Melted White Chocolate Chips - Charleston Crafted

Then I dipped the pretzels into the chocolate and placed on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.

Making Chocolate Covered PRetzels - Charleston Crafted

Then I sprinkled them with a variety of Halloween sprinkles. In the end, they tasted all right, but they were super ugly. They turned out a tad better if I only dipped half in the chocolate – otherwise, they got all lumpy and splotchy.

Chocolate Covered Pretzels - Charleston Crafted

Sean said they tasted good either way- so if that’s what counts then they weren’t a total fail 🙂

Have you ever made chocolate covered pretzels? What did I do wrong?

3 thoughts on “Baking Fail: Chocolate Covered Pretzel Edition

  1. I recently fell in love with a treat at a bake sale and made them to bring to the office on Halloween–Pretzels, topped with rolos, topped with M&Ms. I was planning to use the Halloween colored M&Ms, but couldn’t find any at the store. Either way, they are easy and delicious! I would highly recommend them as a fun alternative to chocolate-covered pretzels.

Leave a Reply

