No- Lettuce Asian Chicken Salad

Since Sean’s been gone, I’ve been really vegging out. Seriously, I’ve been making salads every Sunday night for lunches for work for the week. Recently, I tried this new take on my Crunchy Asian Chicken Salad & it is delicious & addicting.

Start with a helping of broccoli slaw. Divide the pack among 4 or 5 tupperwares. I would recommend slicing or breaking the pieces in half- they’re kind of long for one bite.

asian lettuce free salads

Now I just added basically anything I had sitting around. The great thing about salads is you can really go crazy with toppings- the more toppings, the tastier! I next added cucumber. I cut it like we showed you here, but then stopped before cubing it so I had long cucumber sticks.

 

No Lettuce Asian Chicken Salad

Then I added some green onion chopped into tiny little bites. I love onion so I went a little heavy- just add as much or as little as you’d like. The onion is important though, for adding a contrasting strong taste to the sweet things we are about to add.

No Lettuce Asian Chicken Salad

I also ran a couple of whole carrots through the food processor. The slaw mix included some tiny shreds of carrot, but I had some in my fridge & wanted to colorful up the mix.

No Lettuce Asian Chicken Salad

Next came all the fun stuff, crasins, crunchy noodles, and sliced almonds. Finally I topped with (rinsed) canned mandarin oranges. Yum yum yum!

I topped it with grilled chicken seasoned with some garlic & ground ginger. You could serve it without as a side dish, as well.

No Lettuce Asian Chicken Salad

I finished it off with a dressing very similar to the one I used on the crunchy asian salads, but decided to make a creamy version instead. So, I blended one cup of plain greek yogurt with the other ingredients (rice vinegar, a splash of soy sauce, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, lemon juice, and spices) for the perfect, tangy glue to hold this addictive mix together.

No Lettuce Asian Chicken Salad

It was perfect lunches for the whole week! I brought the tupperwares to work and put the dressing in a jar separately. It was fabulous!

What do you take for healthy lunches?

 

Leave a Reply

