Healthy & Hearty- Apple Walnut Salad with Grilled Chicken

Since Sean’s been out of town, I’ve really been trying to make small changes to my eating habits to be healthier. One of the biggest things has been that I (try to!) eat a salad for either lunch or dinner every week day.

Yuck, right? Well, it’s really not that bad. I’ve gotten it down pat so that I can make some pretty healthy, tasty salads. I usually make 4 at a time & package 3 of the 4 up for lunches to take to work throughout the week.

This salad is great because it is hearty yet still light enough to be healthy. I start with a big bed of romaine lettuce. I like to chiffonade my lettuce- that is, I slice it into really thin ribbons. Smaller lettuce measn I can fit more toppings into every bite!

Apple Walnut Salad- Charleston Crafted

Next I add toppings. For this salad, I added grilled chicken, feta cheese (low fat, crumbled), crasins, walnut pieces, and sliced apple. For salads prepared in advance (like for the next day’s lunch at work), I place the sliced apple in a bowl and toss with lemon juice. I let them soak while I assemble the rest of the salad. This keeps the apple from browning. I have had apples stay good for 5 days using this trick!

Apple Walnut Salad- Charleston Crafted

I like to top my salads with a homemade vinaigrette. For this salad, I like a slightly fruity balsamic. I blended olive oil, lemon juice, minced garlic, apple cider vinegar, brown mustard, and a splash of balsamic vinegar with spices including onion powder, salt, and pepper. I mix mine in a mini blender and taste it often. If it is too sour, you can sweeten it up with honey, maple syrup, or brown sugar.

I store the dressing separately in a jar but pre-mix everything else in the salads in tupperware containers.

Apple Walnut Salad- Charleston Crafted

This makes an awesome, filling salad that you will love!

Apple Walnut Salad- Charleston Crafted

What are your favorite salad recipes?

Leave a Reply

